Diploma Requirements


Once enrolled and after any initial transfer credits are accepted, diploma-seeking students are required to take Seton’s English, Theology, Biology, and Social Studies courses as opposed to earning these credits through our Independent Study program or transfers.

To receive a Seton diploma, a student must receive a minimum of 5.5 credits from Seton (or 6.5 credits for an Advanced Academic Diploma) and be fully enrolled in 12th Grade.

The course requirements are given below. Click here to review the Recommended Course Schedule.

Diploma Requirements (22 credits total)

 English (4 credits)

Foreign Language (2 credits)

  • Two years of the same language

Mathematics (3 credits)

  • Algebra 1
  • Geometry (Note: Completion of the Saxon courses: Algebra I, Algebra II, and Advanced Math I also satisfies the Geometry requirement.)
  • One additional math credit

Science (3 credits)

Social Studies (3 credits)

  • World History
  • U.S. History (non-U.S. students have the option to take an independent study course in their own country or region’s history) (or American History)
  • Economics (1/2 credit)
  • Government (1/2 credit) (Note: Seton offers both a 1/2 credit course and a full credit online course. Whichever course is chosen must be completed in its entirety for the requirement to be met.)

Theology (4 credits)

    Electives (3 credits)

    • Any three credits in addition to those listed so that the total is at least 22 total credits